DANGEROUS TOYS Featured On Radioactive Metal’s Album Autopsy

Radioactive Metal has released a 2-part episode discussing Dangerous Toys’ debut album as part of their Album Autopsy series.

“As the 80s were coming to a close, many amazing chart-topping albums were released that we still enjoy today. One album is the self-titled debut by Dangerous Toys. Released in May 1989 and fueled by a couple of great promo videos and singles, the album reached #65 on the Billboard Charts and achieved Gold status. In Part 1 of this Album Autopsy, vocalist Jason McMaster and guitarist Scott Dalhover join us for an in-depth exclusive look at this masterpiece. We learn how the band was formed, how they wrote the songs, how they got their record deal at SXSW when it was just a local festival, recording at the legendary Sound City Studios with Max Norman, who was in the studio next to theirs, how four young Texans adjusted to living in California for a few months, and much much more! This is the most in-depth Album Autopsy we’ve done so far!

In Part 2 of this Album Autopsy, vocalist Jason McMaster and guitarist Scott Dalhover join us once again to go over all the tracks from Dangerous Toys‘ debut self-titled album. Most notably, we find out how it was to work with Max Norman in the studio, coming up with guitar solos, how Jason “learned” how to sing while working on the album,  and how they feel about performing these songs today. There’s tons of other great stories including which songs get the best responses in concert from the men and the women and how Jason’s father reacted to the lyrics on the album! And as a bonus, we talk to artist Tommy Pons, the man who created and painted the famous clown cover! He tells us how he came up with the design, how he got screwed by the record label, how his name was erased from the cover artwork, and who gave him priceless advice! Devil Clown Horns Up!”

Tune in at this location.